Information

http://www.rockler.com/blog/index.cfm?mode=entry&entry=7F49014B-1372-6771-F6F4F90ABDD1760E

This is a great resource for furniture makers of all kinds.  I feel that there is no detail more beautiful than a butterfly joint holding together a cracked piece of wood.  When I finish with the set of tables I am working on, I will definitely need to look for a piece of wood that requires this type of detail.  I thought about doing  butterflies on the slab coffee table that I just finished, but the cracks went all the way through the slab, and I made a decision to go with the steel/mechanical design aesthetic.  I am excited to start working more with wood because it is so expressive and unique.

_Garrett

Leave a Reply

